我們不直接提供食物,但我們能幫助您 找尋食物。

危机应对

通过COVID-19流行病尽力养育加州。

从健康危机开始,很快就变成了经济和饥饿危机。随着学校关闭,裁员在我们社区中蔓延,整个州陷入停顿,食品银行发现自己正在应对前所未有的需求。

一直以来,志愿者的人数直线下降,需要重新安排仓库,更新清洁规程,并建立新的分发渠道。

同时,我们全天候工作,以确保最高程度地了解粮食银行的需求,并且养育我们的社区仍然是重中之重。

我们正处于全面的饥饿危机之中。
Stacia Hill Levenfeld

保持食物储备充足

除了我们每月提供的新鲜农产品之外,我们还与加利福尼亚社会服务部(CDSS)合作,为食品银行,社区组织和部落提供预先包装的,可保存货架的食品盒-包括受野火影响的社区在2020年的夏季和秋季。

影响饥饿的政策

早期,我们直接与州政府办公室合作,以明确确立食品银行作为重要食品提供者的作用。我们已经成功地推动了众多营养计划的灵活性,并就大流行EBT提供建议,以进一步满足家庭的食物需求。我们将继续推动联邦政府通过支持基本金融,住房和粮食安全需求的立法,其中包括增加15%的补充营养援助计划利益。

确保粮食银行的资金

在大流行的最初几周内,我们从州获得了$20M的粮食,以分发食品给我们的会员,在接下来的几个月中,我们获得了三倍的保护。我们还寻求慈善合作伙伴的赠款,以向我们的会员食品银行提供私人捐赠的财务资源,并积极从事公益事业。

适应CalFresh宣传

我们与CDSS合作,成功提倡建立在线杂货店购买渠道,以减轻去杂货店的负担,并将收益增加到最大分配水平。随着数百万新入职的个人申请CalFresh,我们已支持推广合作伙伴转向在线聊天或电话支持。

解锁劳动力支持

我们迅速确保部署了国民警卫队和其他国有资产来支持食品银行。我们与加利福尼亚州的志愿者保持着密切的联系,以保持对工作人员支持的持续需求,并通过“加利福尼亚全民”计划鼓励食品银行的志愿服务。

资源与信息

取得新闻

随时与饥饿作斗争。
  • 这个字段是用于验证目的,应该保持不变。

We do not offer food. Here’s where you can find food.

Crisis Response

Doing our part to nourish California through the COVID-19 pandemic.

What started as a health crisis quickly became an economic and hunger crisis. With schools shuttered, layoffs rippling through our communities, and the entire state coming to a standstill, food banks found themselves responding to an unprecedented demand.

All the while, volunteer availability plummeted, warehouses needed to be rearranged, cleaning protocols were updated, and new distributions were established.

At the same time, we worked around the clock to make sure food banks’ needs were known at the highest levels, and that nourishing our communities remained a top priority.

We’re in the midst of a full-blown hunger crisis.
Stacia Hill Levenfeld (2020)

Keeping Food Banks Stocked

In addition to the farm-fresh produce we deliver each month, we work with the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to supply food banks, community organizations, and tribes with prepackaged, shelf stable food boxes — including to communities impacted by the wildfires in the summer and fall of 2020.

Influencing Policies that Impact Hunger

Early on, we worked directly with state government offices to clearly establish the role of food banks as essential food providers. We’ve successfully pushed for flexibility in numerous nutrition programs as well as advising on Pandemic EBT to further support families’ food needs. We continue to push the federal government to pass legislation that supports basic financial, housing, and food security needs, including a 15% boost for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits.

Securing Funding for Food Banks

We secured $20M from the state to distribute food to our members in the first weeks of the pandemic, and have secured three times that over the months following. We have also sought grants from philanthropic partners to provide privately donated financial resources to our member food banks and are actively engaged in cause-marketing.

Connecting People with Public Benefits

We’ve supported our 50+ outreach partners to pivot to online chat, phone support, or alternate ways of connecting with the millions of individuals newly-eligible CalFresh. Working with CDSS, we successfully advocated to establish online grocery purchasing to ease the burden of getting to a grocery store, to make it easier for people to apply for the program, as well as to increase the overall amount of benefits families are receiving.

Unlocking Workforce Support

We quickly secured the deployment of the National Guard and other state assets to support food banks. We remain in close communication with California volunteers to keep the ongoing need for workforce support front and center, and also encourage volunteerism at food banks through the Californians for All initiative.

Resources & Information

Get the News

Stay up to date in fight against hunger.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.