我們不直接提供食物,但我們能幫助您 找尋食物。

政策重点领域

我们将政策工作重点放在关键领域。

消除饥饿绝非易事。食品银行发挥着关键作用,但我们不能独自做到这一点。与饥饿作斗争不仅是向有需要的人提供紧急食物,还意味着采取行动解决饥饿和贫困的根源。

我们与食品银行网络一起致力于在联邦,州和地方各级倡导反饥饿计划和政策。

COVID-19回应

尽我们最大的努力通过大流行来滋养加州。

食品供应

从第一天开始,我们一直在努力确保州和联邦政府对食品银行的支持-包括与加利福尼亚社会服务部成功建立了紧急食品盒计划。

劳动力支持

马上,我们知道食品银行需要劳动力的支持才能将食品运送出去。我们立即要求总督Newsom部署国民警卫队,以帮助支持饥饿救济工作。我们将继续与CalVolunteer合作,以确保最高程度地了解食品银行的人员需求。

指导

立即,我们努力确保根据国家的指导和法规将食品储备库归类为“基本”。我们将继续确保根据不断发展的准则对食品银行的工作进行适当的分类。

粮食银行支持

我们致力于确保加利福尼亚州对我们的食品银行进行投资,并了解其在加利福尼亚州社会安全网中所发挥的关键作用。

加州食品

多年来,我们已经成功地在总督预算中为CalFood筹集了资金。每年将这$8M资金分配给食品银行,以购买加利福尼亚生产的食品。

容量

现在,我们已经两次获得粮食银行的资金,用于一次性购买以增强其运营能力。 $25M允许食品银行购买更多或更新的卡车,冷藏库,叉车等。

防灾能力

在我们最需要的时候为社区提供食物。

粮食银行的回应

灾难已成为全州的新常态,移民,农场工人和其他低收入加州人遭受的后果却不成比例。无论是像大火,地震这样的自然灾害,还是像2019年联邦政府关闭和公共服务关闭之类的人为危机,食品银行都在应对食物需求,并且要保持很长一段时间才能保持加利福尼亚人的健康和饱食。

我们继续主张提供资金来支持我们的食品银行的救灾工作。

Senator Newman’s letter to Senate Budget Committee in support of $32M for disaster resilience (3/19/2021)

Assemblymember Villapudua’s letter to Assembly budget Committee in support of $32M for disaster resilience (4/16/2021)

灾难恢复

Disaster CalFresh(D-CalFresh),联邦政府称为“灾难补充营养援助计划”(D-SNAP),是一种满足自然灾害后灾难受害者临时营养需求的方法。

D-CalFresh仅在以下所有元素均发生时才可用:

宣传资源和材料:

有关其他信息,请访问以下网站:

儿童营养

努力确保没有孩子饿着肚子上学。

每隔五年,儿童营养重新授权(CNR)为国会提供机会来加强和增加对儿童营养和学校膳食计划的投资,这些计划不仅可以改善数百万低收入儿童和家庭的健康和营养状况,还可以提供重要的教育以及支持儿童发展和福祉的丰富活动。这些计划包括国家学校午餐计划(NSLP),学校早餐计划(SBP),课余和夏季营养计划,WIC和儿童和成人护理食品计划(CACFP)。

儿童营养立法:

大流行EBT(P-EBT)

这是《家庭首次冠状病毒应对法》(HR 6201)中首次授权的对象,这些儿童符合免费或减价餐计划的资格,并入读因大流行而停课5天以上的学校。它旨在弥补丢失的学校餐食,并为近400万儿童提供服务。你可以看到 CDSS的成果报告 详细了解P-EBT对这几个月的影响。 

对于第一轮P-EBT福利(或“ P-EBT 1.0”), CDSS于5月7日发布了指南CAFB制定了问答文件 帮助告知食品银行。 

CDSS被批准通过其“ P-EBT扩展”计划在8月和9月再次提供P-EBT。这轮P-EBT福利将自动邮寄给在第一轮P-EBT中已经获得P-EBT的家庭。不会有申请流程,因为它仅适用于以前已经接受过P-EBT的孩子。

总统于2020年10月签署的《联邦持续性决议》授权进行另一轮P-EBT,以涵盖从10月开始的2020-2021学年。这轮P-EBT –或“ P-EBT 2.0” –使符合儿童保育条件的新入学的幼儿,以及符合免费或减价用餐计划资格的在校儿童。对于年幼的孩子,他们必须满足以下条件:

CalFresh(SNAP)

CalFresh是我们对抗饥饿的最佳防御方法。

农业法案

《农场法案》是我国粮食和农业政策的主要立法驱动力。 《农业法案》大约每五年获得一次重新批准,并制定了粮食和农业政策,该政策为我国的农业生产者提供了安全网,并帮助我们的低收入社区摆上了餐桌,包括为CalFresh福利提供资金。

联邦袭击

在过去的几年中,联邦政府试图将资格规则更改为CalFresh计划。如果颁布,这些规则的改变将在我们的州造成更深的饥饿感。我们正在努力防止它们发生变化。

CalSAWS迁移

SAWS代表全州自动福利系统。加利福尼亚州的县目前使用三种SAWS(信息技术)系统来为寻求社会保障网络支持的人们开展福利资格,确定和维护的业务。加利福尼亚州正在与联邦政府合作,将现有的三个联合体系统和功能整合为一个系统:加利福尼亚州全州自动福利系统(CalSAWS)。

CalSAWS系统以及将操作和信息迁移到该系统的方式,对消费者和资格工作者访问和体验服务的方式产生了根本性的影响。

食物浪费

防止浪费好食物。

有时-无论农民,生产者,零售商或个人如何精心计划-他们都面临着如何处理剩余食物的艰难决定。在加利福尼亚州的每一天,人们都面临困境,需要一点帮助才能将食物放在餐桌上。我们认为,我们的职责是尽一切可能将这些点联系起来,并确保家庭和个人在其社区中获得新鲜,营养的食物。

SB 1383

环境立法 SB 1383 设定了具有里程碑意义的全州食用食品回收要求。具体而言,该法律要求加利福尼亚州回收不少于20%的可食用食品,否则将在2025年前帮助人们食用。这是全州的目标,但是地方辖区(您所在的城市或县,取决于他们的做法)将得以实施计划实现目标。

新规定将于2022年1月1日生效。 完整的实施时间表在这里。  

We have developed a Q&A document for food banks, and CalRecycle has developed 模型工具 食物银行和当地司法管辖区可以使用的。 

农场到家庭税收抵免

许多加利福尼亚州的生产者都想尽自己的一份力量来减轻社区中的饥饿感,但是波动的食品价格和紧缩的经营利润可能使这变得困难。目前,加利福尼亚州已有州立法,允许一些种植者就捐赠的水果,蔬菜,蛋白质,淀粉和其他食品的合格批发价值要求15%州税收抵免。这种税收抵免有助于使生产者将食品捐赠给加利福尼亚州的食品银行,并将营养食品送达个人,儿童和家庭。

2011年,CAFB率先通过了 AB 152(丰特斯)成立了“农场到家庭税收抵免”计划,以激励加利福尼亚州的水果和蔬菜种植者向食品银行捐赠剩余产品。 

2016年,州预算流程中采用了语言,从而对税收抵免进行了多项改进。 1)抵免额从食品的存货成本转换为批发价,2)抵免额从10%增至15%,3)税收抵免的有效期延长了五年,至2022年。 

在2019年 AB 614(埃格曼) 通过该法案,将合格的加利福尼亚州食品的类型从水果和蔬菜扩展到了其他产品,例如谷物,奶制品和蛋白质。 

在2020-21年的立法周期中,我们提倡将这一非常成功的税收抵免的有效期再延长5年,到2027年。

贫穷

从各个角度攻击饥饿及其根源。

补充保障收入

补充安全收入(SSI)是一项由联邦政府资助的计划,可为65岁以上,有盲人或残疾人的低收入人群提供适度的月度福利。在加利福尼亚州,SSI支付由州补充支付(简称“ SSP”)增加,这使一个人单独居住的个人的最高每月福利达到$910.74,该金额迫使许多低收入的老年人和残疾人生活在贫穷中。 

自2019年6月1日起,SSI / SSP接收者有资格申请CalFresh, 就像该国其他每个州一样。这为提高该人群的粮食安全提供了巨大的机会,并且需要州,县和倡导者之间的协调努力。

我们积极参与 加利福尼亚人参加SSI联盟.

加州理工学院

从历史上看,具有联邦分配的个人纳税人识别号码的加利福尼亚移民被排除在CalEITC和幼儿税收抵免之外。

2020年9月,州长Newsom签署了具有里程碑意义的立法,该立法结束了年收入在$30,000或以下的移民工人使用个人纳税人识别号提交税款的行为,其中包括无证工人和持有学生签证的移民,这些收入均来自加利福尼亚收入所得税抵免(CalEITC)和幼儿税收抵免(YCTC)。 

取得新闻

随时与饥饿作斗争。
  • 这个字段是用于验证目的,应该保持不变。

We do not offer food. Here’s where you can find food.

Policy Focus Areas

We focus our policy work on the key areas.

Ending hunger is no small challenge. Food banks play a critical role, but we can’t do it alone. Fighting hunger is not only about providing emergency food to people in need — it also means taking action to address the root causes of hunger and poverty.

Together with our food bank network we are committed to advocating for anti-hunger programs and policies at the federal, state and local levels.

COVID-19 Response

Doing our part to nourish California through a pandemic.

Food Supply

Since day one, we’ve worked to ensure that food banks were supported at the state and federal levels — including successfully partnering with the California Department of Social Services to establish an Emergency Food Box Program.

Workforce Support

Right away, we knew food banks needed workforce support to be able to get food out the door. We immediately requested that Governor Newsom deploy the National Guard to help support hunger relief efforts. We continue to work with CalVolunteer to ensure that food banks’ staffing needs are known at the highest levels.

Guidance

Immediately, we worked to ensure that food banks were classified as “essential” under State’s guidance and regulations. We continue to make sure that food banks’ work is properly classified under the evolving guidelines.

Food Bank Support

We work to ensure that the State of California invests in our food banks & understands the critical role they play in California’s social safety net.

CalFood

For years, we have successfully secured funding in the Governor budget for CalFood. This $8M allocation of funds is provided to food banks annually to purchase California produced food.

Capacity

Twice now, we have secured funding for food banks to make one time purchase that enhance their operations. This $25M has allowed food banks to purchase more or newer trucks, cold storages, forklifts, and so much more.

Disaster Resilience

Feeding communities when we need it most.

Food Bank Response

Disasters have become the new normal across the state and immigrants, farm workers, and other low-income Californians experience disproportionate consequences. Whether natural disaster like fires or earthquakes, or man-made crises like the 2019 federal shutdown and public service power shutoffs, food banks are on the responding to need for food, and remain long after to keep Californians healthy and well-fed.

We continue to advocate for funding to support our food banks’ disaster relief work.

Senator Newman’s letter to Senate Budget Committee in support of $32M for disaster resilience (3/19/2021)

Assemblymember Villapudua’s letter to Assembly budget Committee in support of $32M for disaster resilience (4/16/2021)

Disaster CalFresh

Disaster CalFresh (D-CalFresh), federally known as the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP), is a way to meet the temporary nutritional needs of disaster victims following a natural disaster.

D-CalFresh is only available when all of the following elements occur:

Advocacy resources and materials:

For additional information, visit the following websites:

Child Nutrition

Working to ensure no child goes to school hungry.

Every five years, Child Nutrition Reauthorization (CNR) provides Congress with the opportunity to strengthen and increase investments in the child nutrition and school meals programs that not only improve the health and nutrition of millions of  low-income children and families but also provide critical educational and enrichment activities that support children’s development and wellbeing. These programs include the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), School Breakfast Program (SBP), After school and Summer Nutrition Programs, WIC and the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP).

Child Nutrition Legislation:

Pandemic-EBT (P-EBT)

This was first authorized in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (H.R. 6201) for children who were eligible for the Free or Reduced Price Meal program, and were enrolled in a school that was closed for 5+ days due to the pandemic. It was designed to cover lost school meals and it served close to 4M children. You can see CDSS’ outcomes report for more details on the impact of P-EBT for these months. 

For this first round of P-EBT benefits (or, “P-EBT 1.0”), CDSS issued guidance on May 7th, and CAFB developed a Q&A document to help inform food banks. 

CDSS was approved to provide P-EBT again for the months of August and September, through their “P-EBT Extension” plan. This round of P-EBT benefits will be mailed automatically to families who already received P-EBT in the first round of P-EBT. There will not be an application process, because it is only for children who already received P-EBT previously.

The Federal Continuing Resolution signed by the President in October 2020 authorized another round of P-EBT, to cover the 2020-2021 school year from October onwards. This round of P-EBT – or, “P-EBT 2.0” – makes newly eligible younger children who are in child care settings, in addition to children in school who are eligible for the Free or Reduced Price Meal program. For the younger children, they must meet the following criteria:

CalFresh (SNAP)

CalFresh is our best defense against hunger.

Farm Bill

The Farm Bill is the leading legislative driver of our nation’s food and farming policy. The Farm Bill is reauthorized approximately every five years and sets food and agricultural policy that provides a safety net for our country’s agricultural producers and helps our low-income communities put food on the table, including funding CalFresh benefits.

Federal Attacks

Over the past several years, the federal government has attempted to change the eligibility rules to the CalFresh program. If enacted, these rule changes would create even deeper hunger in our state. We are working to prevent them from changing.

CalSAWS Migration

SAWS stands for the Statewide Automated Welfare System. There are currently three SAWS (information technology) systems being used by counties in California to conduct the business of benefits eligibility, determinations, and maintenance for people seeking social safety net supports. California is working in partnership with the federal government to consolidate the existing three consortia systems and functionality into one single system: California Statewide Automated Welfare System (CalSAWS).

The CalSAWS system, and the means by which operations and information are migrated to that system, have foundational impacts on the way consumers and eligibility workers access and experience services.

Food Waste

Preventing good food from going to waste.

Sometimes – no matter how carefully farmers, producers, retailers, or individuals plan –  they are faced with the hard decision of what to do with surplus food. And every day all across California, people are faced with hard times and need a little help to put food on their dinner table. We believe it is our role to connect these dots where we can, and ensure that families and individuals have access to fresh, nourishing food in their communities.

SB 1383

The environmental legislation SB 1383 sets the landmark statewide edible food recovery requirement. Specifically, the law requires California to recover no less than 20% of edible food that would otherwise be disposed, to help feed people by 2025. This is a statewide goal, but local jurisdictions – your cities or county, depending on their approach – will implement plans to achieve the goal.

The new rules will go into effect on January 1, 2022. The full implementation schedule is here.  

We have developed a Q&A document for food banks, and CalRecycle has developed model tools that food banks and local jurisdictions can use. 

Farm to Family Tax Credit

Many California producers want to do their part to alleviate hunger in their communities, but fluctuating food prices and tight operating margins can make it difficult. Right now, California has state legislation that allows some growers to claim a 15% state tax credit on the qualified wholesale value of donated fruits, vegetables, proteins, starches, and other food items. This tax credit helps enable producers to donate food products to California food banks and get nourishing food into the hands of individuals, children, and families.

In 2011, CAFB led the advocacy to pass AB 152 (Fuentes), which established the Farm to Family Tax Credit to incentivize growers of fruits and vegetables in California to donate surplus product to food banks. 

In 2016, language was passed in the state budget process which created several improvements to the Tax Credit. 1) The credit was shifted from the inventoried cost of food to the wholesale value, 2) the credit was raised from 10 percent to 15 percent, 3) the sunset of the Tax Credit was extended by five years to 2022. 

In 2019, AB 614 (Eggman) was passed that expanded the types of qualifying California-grown foods from just fruits and vegetables, to include other products like grains, dairy, and protein. 

In the 2020-21 legislative cycle, we are advocating to extend the sunset of this highly successful Tax Credit by another 5 years, to 2027.

Poverty

Attacking hunger and its root causes from all angles.

Supplemental Security Income

Supplemental Security Income, or ‘SSI,’ is a federally funded program that provides a modest monthly benefit to low-income people who are 65 or older, blind, or disabled. In California, the SSI payment is augmented by a State Supplementary Payment, or ‘SSP,’ which brings the maximum monthly benefit for an individual living alone to $910.74, an amount that forces many low-income seniors and people with disabilities to live in poverty. 

As of June 1st, 2019, SSI/SSP recipients are eligible to apply for CalFresh, as is the case in every other state in the country. This presents a tremendous opportunity to increase food security for this population, and it will require a coordinated effort between the state, counties, and advocates alike.

We are an active participant in the Californians for SSI coalition.

CalEITC

Historically, immigrant Californians with a federally assigned Individual Taxpayer Identification Number were excluded from the CalEITC and the Young Child Tax Credit.

In September 2020, Governor Newsom signed landmark legislation that that ends the exclusion of immigrant workers earning $30,000 or less who file taxes with an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, which includes undocumented workers and immigrants with student visas, from the California Earned Income Tax Credit (CalEITC) and Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC). 

Get the News

Stay up to date in fight against hunger.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.